24 years using, 4 months weed free my story

Postby cleanofgreen » Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:39 pm

Sorry for the long post but as I was going through the first few months I couldn't do anything else but read these forums, so it might pass some time for ye on the beginning of your journey.

First off,I have been browsing these forums for the last 3 months and let me say that they are a god send and probably the only reason I am still clean and sane. I just want to give something back to the world for all the help I have received from reading posts from the likes of johnrlivingston, netty28661, lmcbride etc. Reading these posts and particularly the histories have brought some realizations to me that I think I would have never come to on my own. It's like all the dots joined up and I had a eureka moment. So for the history.

I started smoking when I was 20 (I'm now 44). My first joint was a hash joint, a friend of mine had gotten a few grams of hash and when I smoked it we got a taxi to town for a night out, in the taxi I started feeling bad, heart racing thinking I was going to die, got to the pub, went in and fell flat on my face passed out, woke up outside where my friend and the barman had lifted me out, I was pale white and could hardly stand, they got me a brandy and I knocked it back to try get some life back into me. After a while I was ok and went drinking for the night swearing to never touch it again. Looking back I think this was a warning to me from some higher power or spirit or the universe, whatever you want to call it, to not start this cannabis habit, a warning that like a fool I didn't heed.