wondering if I can help him or get out ?

Postby Girl303 » Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:50 am

HI, reading some forums, the advise is positive and supportive, factual and socially considered. I am looking for advice on my relationship with Guy.
We met 6 years ago, we are very attached to each other and yet he does not support my goals and hobbies, he wants me to give up painting, which i hold a Bachelor's degree in and graduated with honors. I do not make my money on art yet, and i say yet because i believe in myself and cannot change my wish to be a professional artist at all costs. However, i make my money in the service industry and have since my first job. Guy is quite rich, he grows medical weed and makes a good living. Because of this success in his business he is able to lead a more expensive lifestyle than i, and so he supports me. In a sense tho, He does not support me going to grad school for art he would tell me to give it up and grow weed like him. I am not too interested in horticulture even though i am proud of his success. However, over the years i have learned and helped him grow his business considerably and have sat through hundreds of hours of weed talks with him pouring his heart out to me about growing and such and such. He has never finished an art conversation with me, If i try to delve into art history, etc... some topic that i am thinking about he says it is over his head, boring, waste of time, ununderstandable, etc.. and stops listening. He does like a few of my paintings i suppose but he just thinks it is a hobby.