The Rewiring Project: Dealing with PAWS

Postby Foggy Noggin » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:23 pm

First off, thank you for this forum, and thank you for all the excellent posts it contains. It has been an invaluable source of information and inspiration for me during this incredibly tough time.

I am in my late 40's and I've been using MJ for over 30 years without much of an issue. My use has gradually increased, culminating with a habit of about an OZ a month. I smoked both flower and vape concentrate every day, mornings and night, and aside from a lack of productivity, I felt fine most of the time. I have abstained for 1-2 months a couple of times during that period to be able to pass UA's and after the first couple days of insomnia, really didn't have any issues with withdrawal.

Earlier this year, I got a promotion at work, so I made the decision to 'dry out' for 2-3 months with the belief it would make me sharper and more productive. I thought it would also 'reset' my tolerance so I wouldn't have to smoke as much when I returned to using. My plan was to abstain for a while, then return to using on weekends only. PAWS has derailed my plan and has derailed my mental state.

I've been off MJ now for about 2.5 months. As with previous periods of abstinence, after the first couple days of insomnia, I wasn't having any issues. In fact, I did feel more energized and productive and more outgoing than when I was using daily. But, as with a lot of folks on this site, the subsequent days and weeks have been increasingly difficult.

I don't have cravings to use again, which I am thankful for. I have the typical symptoms of FATIGUE, LOW ENERGY, DEPRESSION and ANXIETY. But what has been the most difficult symptom for me to handle is my COGNITIVE DYSFUNCTION. I've always considered myself to be fairly smart, able to figure stuff out, able to make a plan, etc. PAWS has taken all that away from me.