What's wrong with me. I don't like myself.

Self esteem - in this over-hyped field it's essential to distinguish fact from fiction.Self confidence - faith in your own abilities is so important in today's high-achieving world.

Postby waterdemon » Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:22 am

Hi everyone,

It's nice to find a forum where everyone with the same problems come together and help each other out.

So, I'm going to explain my problem here. Apparently I'm a college freshman. I'm been thinking about what I have acheived in life and I say it's not very much. Yes, you're all think I'm still young but I still feel empty and worthless.

My social skills and self confidence has been really low. Eversince I was growing up I'd never had a chance to open up to people. All of these years I have been trying to figure out who I am, but can never really accept myself. There are so many influrences and views out there thats it's hard to know where you stand in the world. I think I try to be someone I'm not. I imagine being a confident and successful person, but it'll never happen because I don't like myself.

Whenever I say something, do something, look at someone, I would get weird looks from people. It seems like they don't understand me. I think it's because the way I talk and look.I don't look confident and the way I talk is boring. I'm not a very excited person. I don't get very excited at things anymore because I'm afraid to embarass myself. Maybe it's from a lack of expierence of people. I was always constantly rejected from people. A group of friends would reject me because I couldn't bond with them, group projects, some teachers, adults, family members. I didn't have anyone to spend prom with because a girl told me people feel uncomfortable around me.