Switching from blue collar to white collar.

Workplace issues including management skills, personal effectiveness, motivation and personal development / self improvement.

Postby Lakotagirl » Sun Jun 03, 2007 7:32 pm

Hi,

Can I get some tips on switching from blue collar work to white collar work.

I graduated college in December, while I was in college I've always held pretty laborious jobs and even after I graduated I immediately started a bluecollar job (housekeeping). I liked my job and the people that I worked with and said I wouldn't quit but I unexpectedly got offered a job that is way more professional than I'm used to and it's in a mental health field and I get paid more money. I'm so used to wearing uniforms all the time and this will be the first time that I have to dress more professional. I'm not sure how to act around people in the professional field. From working those jobs on the bottom I'm so used to professional people pretty much being rude. On top of that my ex is getting married so I'm going through so many emotions all at the same time excitement, being nervous, and saddness altogether.

Any tips would help in the transition.
Lakotagirl
Preferred Member

Postby newinmay » Fri Jun 08, 2007 3:40 pm

Hi Lakota Girl,

If I was you I would go and buy a nice office outfit. Than see what it does to you. How do you feel? You might feel better once you wear the clothes.

It's fantastic that you were offered a job! WOW! That's really great. That means that somebody believes in you and sees your potential.

As about your ex: He is an ex and that's in the past: Just imagine how many doors will open when you start your new job.

This is your journey!!! Even when you feel nervous: Walk on!

On top of that: Just imagine what a great asset it is to know the blue collar world that well! The next world is only different.