Feeling hopeless at work

Workplace issues including management skills, personal effectiveness, motivation and personal development / self improvement.

Postby Jun » Tue Dec 21, 2004 2:15 pm

Hi everyone,

I am glad I have just found this forum.
I'm having a lot of trouble at finding my way at work, and i hope i could learn from the experience of others here on the board.

I'll try to keep it short. I graduated about three years ago from university. After more then half a year i've found the "job" i am currently still in.
It wasn't really a job, i got this one by applying for another in the same company...
THey didn't have a position available yet, but they asked if i wanted to do this on "self-employed" basis a few hours a week (sorry, don't know really how to call it, english isn't my native language)...they told me in a few months time i would have a full time position as employee.

In stead of a few months this lasted for 1.5 years...i've often thought about quiting but didn't find the courage too, nor have i the self confidence that I have capabilities..

I started protesting against this because a friend encouraged me to ... Result is that since one year I am an employee there , but only part time.
And first they had said that this new year i would get a part time contract for long term...but its again only for one year...
so its not moving forward.

But what bothers me more is that i don't function there...when i started no one told me what they expected, no one helped me find my way...(social function in a medical setting)...feels to me they don't really want me there. because the reason they took me there was to get some funding from governement...
I am feeling very insecure about my capabilities as it is, and i feel i can't gain any self confidence in this work environment because i have no one to discuss my work with. And seems i get sort of panic attacks when i think about getting out of my shell.