husband hates my tattoo

Postby jeerlual » Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:54 pm

Back in October I got my first tattoo. It starts just above my ankle and goes down onto my foot about 1" from my toes. Nothing ugly and there are flowers representing each of my kids. I have been talking for over 2 years that I wanted to get one and decided now was the time to do it. I knew my husband didn't like tattoos, but figured he would just be mad at me for a few days and eventually accept it. He didnt' even try to stop me when I left to get it. He knew about this for a week and said nothing. After I got it the first week was horrible. He got so depressed and couldn't function. I've never seen him this emotional in our 13 years together (9 married). He desperately wants me to get this removed, but I have a hard time wanting to do that for him. We have since started therapy and have realized there are other issues, and our therapist has asked us to put the tattoo on the side burner to start working on the other things. The problem is he can't do that. It all comes down to him wanting me to remove it. I've been keeping it covered, but we are going on a trip in January to a warm environment. He asked me to cover it while i was there, but I asked him what would happen come summer when wearing shorts and flipflops. He truely feels this has changed me. One thing I don't understand is how he can feel this way towards me and not other people who have tattoos. I knew he didnt' like them but never realize to what extent. Am I wrong not wanting to remove it? I feel it will scar and not be completely gone, but he thinks scaring wouldn't happen. I'm at my whits end and just don't know what to do anymore.
jeerlual

Postby thefool » Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:10 pm

He's acting like a little babe about it...

It's not his foot, it's yours, so who cares if you put a tattoo on it? Granted I wouldn't necessarily want a wife with tattoos all over her body, but that's extreme.