Going back to work after depression and anxiety

Postby princessleia20 » Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:32 pm

I am seeking advice as I am very confused about my current situation. I was signed off sick from work in 2006 with depression and anxiety and I started to recover in 2007. In 2008 my mother became ill very suddenly and died within 8 weeks which totally floored me. I managed to gather up the strength to do a top up degree at university which I was very proud of and I graduated in July 2009. I have been looking for work since then and have now been offered a full time job in a college as a learning mentor.

The job is full time but term time only but I am scared I have taken on too much. I've been out of work for 3.5 years and been through so much. I have made such good progress with my depression in fact I can say I am not depressed anymore but still have some anxiety. I was excited when I initially got offered the job but then the next day the reality kicked in...I am scared of being somewhere full time in case I want to run away and I am now worried I have done the wrong thing.

I was fine at university but then thats a supportive atmosphere and I do well there but I am worried about work. I have got it wrong a lot in the past and I am scared I will crash and burn in this role. Why did I go for something so demanding supporting others 14-16 year olds....it seems like a lot of responsibility when I have been so ill. What should I do? I am worried about not doing it as I have told all my relatives about the job but part of me wishes I could just volunteer and find my confidence again or do some more study at uni. My partner and I could really do with my earning good money again as we bought a house this year and have struggled to maintain it...I feel under so much pressure.
princessleia20

Likes Received: 0

Postby jurplesman » Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:35 am

HI princessleia20,