Emotions and Design

Postby stweedd1 » Sun Jul 04, 2010 2:12 pm

Hi there

I'm a postgrad research student in Interaction Design. I'm writing my masters dissertation on Emotions and Design and why is it needed.

I'm interested not only on what designers think of this but psychologists views on it as well. If you don't mind i have a few questions i'd like to ask. any responses are appreciated

Thanks

Questions

Firstly, why has emotional design become an important part of design recently? Why do we need to have an emotional response to everyday objects?

Secondly, where do you think emotions come into the design process? For example is it something that is initially designed into the object or part of it's marketing or something that the user reflects on themselves?

Due to mass customization, how do peoples relationships with these objects change compared to objects that have been mass produced?

And lastly, how much do people have an emotional attachment (if any) with digital media?
stweedd1

Postby satanstoystore » Mon Jul 05, 2010 9:00 am

I'm not a psychologist but I mess around with plenty of brains.

Firstly, why has emotional design become an important part of design recently?
Competition, perhaps lack of fulfillment. Emotional design determines the depth of fulfillment for a consumer.

Why do we need to have an emotional response to everyday objects?
Emotions enrich our lives.

Secondly, where do you think emotions come into the design process? For example is it something that is initially designed into the object or part of it's marketing or something that the user reflects on themselves?
It's both but the possible depth of this reflection should begin at the design process.

Due to mass customization, how do peoples relationships with these objects change compared to objects that have been mass produced?
It really depends on the person.

And lastly, how much do people have an emotional attachment (if any) with digital media?