Hypnosis? how to learn?

Postby Ralbeyd » Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:40 pm

Hi guys,
I've recently got involved in street magic and card shuffling, now I want to learn hypnosis; how would I go about learning how to hypnotise myself/someone else? Is there any way I can learn online?

Also a couple of questions:
How long would it take to be able to hypnotise myself?
How long would it take to be able to hypnotise others?
Is it possible to hypnotise myself/others for the long term? (E.g. stop bad habits)

Cheers,
Ralbeyd
Ralbeyd

Postby bhups » Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:43 am

Hello and welcome Ralbeyd to the best forum!! :)

I'm no expert in the field, but I have learnt LOADS from this forum as well as from quite a few books and videos.

As to your questions, here are what you can do according to my view:

- how would I go about learning how to hypnotise myself/someone else?
I have not learnt how to self hypnotise yet, but a good practice is mention on a Dave Elman book Hypnotherapy as to how to do this.
Its getting yourself to close your eyes and relax all the mussels around those eyes, once they are completely relaxed, just "pretend" they are stuck and you cannot open them. Once you do this and practice this, you can in hypnotise yourself.

Note: there are many ways to self hypnotise, so you have to pick one that bests fits your needs.

As to how to hypnotise someone else, I would recommend you buy the book Reality is Plastic by Anthony Jacquin and also Deeper and Deeper, by Jon Chase. Very good on getting you going.
I would also recommend the Manchurian Approach DVD by Anthony Jacquin. This will really give you an incite on how it all works in practice.

- Is there any way I can learn online?
Check out http://www.youtube.com/how2hypnotise. Amazing free quick guide on Impromptu hypnosis.

- How long would it take to be able to hypnotise myself?
I guess this depends on whether you have got the right technique and the amount of time you put in.