32 year old quitting weed after 17 years (Day 2)

Postby Perilous3D » Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:34 pm

Hello all,

I have been smoking weed since the age of 15 years old and have had a love/hate relationship with it since the beginning. It's always been there for me but has also hindered me in many ways. Now, 17 years later, I look at the time I have lost and the shock of my ageing body in the mirror really makes me realize that I am ready to quit. I just don't know how to cope with life without it. I've never really had to before. I've been using it mostly to calm my nerves and suppress my anger but now that I'm letting go of it, it's clear that I don't have the skills that I need to deal with life the way a typical non-smoker would have learned to do on their own over the years.

I have 2 small children (1.5 and 3 years old) who sadly have to watch their father go through hell and back every day while trying to deal with this. I'm partly quitting for them but mostly for me. There's a lot of guilt associated with the use of weed regarding my children. I don't remember when they were born. I wasn't all there mentally and though I wasn't stoned at the time, that burned out feeling prevented me from really absorbing the experience. It didn't permeate my being like so many other people say in their newborn stories. I look back at videos and pictures of when they were born and you could just tell by looking at me that there was nothing going on behind those dead eyes. Just a vacant, zombie-like expression. If it wasn't me, I'd feel bad for that guy. Thank goodness I took those pictures and videos though or I might not be able to remember the experience at all.