Problems living with my boyfriends family

Postby KimiLou » Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:19 pm

Hey this is my first post on this website. I've been looking for a forum like this for a few days because there's things I need to say and to gain perspective I guess.

Without going too far into the past I've had a lot of bad life experience; last year I had a 2nd breakdown and I've only turned 22. Anyway Around July last year I met my boyfriend and things have progressed rather fast which I feel good about we're both on the same page and want the same things in life but obviously have different goals aswel! When we first met he lives near Oldham and I lived in Liverpool. After 3 months of being together, rightly or wrongly I wanted to move closer to him. (One thing you should probably know is I follow my gut instinct the majority of the time!) When we discussed this he had the idea of asking his parents if I could lodge with them for a bit until I found my own place nearer to him.

Bearing in mind I met his parents before and we got on great etc. I'm the first girlfriend he's had and introduced to them etc. They thankfully said yes and I gave up my flat (which I would of ended up losing anyway) and moved in with my boyfriend and his family. A couple months later and I successfully got a job as a care assistant, which I started December 2012. Since working there it has fuelled my search for a property of my own as living in a family environment again is difficult for me. I get on great with all his family especially his younger sister. But his bedroom is in a loft conversion and hasnt got a door and his mum and sister don't really feel the need to knock or announce their presence (kind of mortifying if you're trying to get changed etc). It is not an ideal living situation by anyones standards anyway but I'm trying not to waffle on TOO much lol!