Self-Harm Addiction, Please Help

Postby netx » Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:35 pm

I'm a high school sophomore, 10th grade. I have a few close friends and a boyfriend who I can see being with for the rest of my life. My home life is iffy, but other people have it worse. I'm a good student and get good grades, I'm taking a course on programming and other computer technologies which I am talented with and even joined my school's Robotics Club as a programmer.

In general, everything has been going pretty well for me.

So, why have I recently wanted to cut myself again?

This December, I'll be clean for two whole years. I haven't self-harmed since December of 2015. But I have such a strong urge to slice up my thighs again. And my wrists.

I've been drawing on myself instead, which helps a bit, but I just don't understand.

Why is the urge coming back now? I can't figure it out.
netx

Likes Received: 0

Postby laureat » Sat Oct 28, 2017 3:32 am

When was the very first time you self-harmed and where did the idea come from: was there someone else doing something like that , because its not natural to do something like that

And what do you think its bringing you? If its more attention or whatsoever?
laureat

Likes Received: 110

Postby netx » Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:10 am

The first time I self-harmed was around the beginning of 2015, when I was in seventh grade. Two of my (former) best friends did it, that's how I found out what it was and made the dumb mistake of trying it.

I'm autistic, and have had depression and anxiety all my life, so that was something that helped me cope, albeit unhealthy.

I went to a mental hospital for a week in December 2015 and haven't self-harmed since.

And it isn't attention that is satisfying about self-harm. I keep it secret from everyone around me when I do it.

There are a lot of theories as to why it's addicting.