Quitting weed after 5 yrs - on day 3

Postby Anxious Bella » Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:49 pm

I'm a 23 year old female and I have been smoking weed almost everyday for 5 years. Started right after I finished high school and I both my parents smoked weed so I naturally grew up with weed being a normal thing in my household. This is the 2nd attempt I have made to quit this past year my 1st attempt only lasted 20 days. I honestly need to quit to save my life. I have been suffering from depression and anxiety since I was very young and used marijuana as a coping mechanism thinking it could help me numb the pain and diminish my anxiety. I first started experiencing some of the worst panic attacks of my life when I started high school. I have no idea why I have these as I have had a great childhood and incredibly supportive family even despite my parents indiscretions. Sometimes I would wake up at night and just feel a pounding tightness on my chest and would feel like I couldn't breath. This is the main reason I never went to school camps growing up or sleepovers. As my panic attacks can be quite embarrassing and it takes a lot of time to calm me down. When I was around 16 I smoked weed with a bunch of my friends and pretty was hooked to it. After this for a period of 2 years I intermittendly smoked weed like not everyday just every 2nd weekend or something. I noticed that weed was the thing that calmed me down and relaxed me. I also noticed I was having less panic attacks than when I was younger. When I finished high school I pretty much was smoking everyday and my panic attacks were pretty much gone. I attributed this to the weed. I was wrong. Things started to go bad after I turned 20. Even looking back everyday marijuana abuse changed me a lot heck I'm still changed from it. Before I started smoking I was already an incredibly nervous and shy person so I started seeing myself become even more of this anxious socially weird recluse. And I kept staying in the dark about it th