Hopefully off the weed after a long time

Postby stoat » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:02 am

Hey people of the uncommon forum,

I've been smoking weed since I was 16 years old (I'm 23 now), and I've been smoking more and more over the last few years. It has gotten to a point that I smoke 3 or 4 joints each evening after coming back from work. I smoked them like cigarettes.

A couple of years ago I also started having panick attacks. At first I thought I was about to die when I was having one. But as I was having more and more panick attacks I've gotten used to them and I started to isolate myself. So instead of doing stuff with friends I was alone at home (and really high most of the times). My work didn't really suffer from it, although I try to avoid meetings as much as possible because I'm too afraid to speak in front of people.

I went to a shrink last year, and I told him about my weed addiction and the panick attacks. The help he offered me was more focused on the panick attacks than the weed. He gave me some exercises, but I never really tried it because I felt more like smoking than improving my life. So it didn't really help me in the end (and I know that it's my own fault).

But now I REALLY want to quit. I'm done with being high all the time, and I'm done with all the anxiety. I don't know if quitting weed is going to help me get rid of the anxiety, but I hope it'll help. So 1.5 week ago I decided to quit. I've since been on a holiday for a week which helped me to get through the first week without any issues. But since I'm back home I'm thinking of getting high a lot. And I've been really anxious about a lot of stuff (e.g getting groceries freaks me out 50% of the times when I'm at the cash desk). I also started to feel depressed.

I relapsed the day I got home from my holiday bytheway. I still had a little bit of weed left, so I rolled one small joint and smoked it (but it was just one time, and now I'm committed to quitting again).