Pre-occupation on events that could lead to unwanted outcome

Postby shaun555 » Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:48 am

Hello,

I would like to share my experience and get feedback if others have faced the same.

I have realised that many times if I get aware of an unwanted outcome that I have no solution to in my present situation, this leads to high focus/obsession/contemplation over events that could trigger the unwanted outcome.

I will explain with an example of obtaining a driving permit.

I had been driving for almost 15 years before moving to America. When I moved I was initially allowed to drive with my international license for six months. I had no problem in driving and felt comfortable.
However when the end of six months approached I went to procure a license and had to give a driving test.
While giving the test I suddenly started feeling tense, anticipating that I would make a mistake at every turn. Just the presence of the inspector besides me had made me so tense that I was nervous like a teenager who was driving for the first time on the road. I failed the first attempt. I cleared the second attempt , though I made a few mistakes even then,.

I realised that initially when I was driving without the awareness that I would have to go through the test inorder to continue driving , I was in normal mode.
My emotional state changed once I was aware that an unwanted outcome (unable to drive) awaited me if any mistake during the test (event) occurred. This led with an pre-occupation with the type of mistakes I could make (events) that could lead to the horrible outcome. My mind started visualising all types of mistakes that were possible. Although I had never ever imagined I needed to be so careful before.

Hence in summary my pre-occupation and nervousness was with events (driving mistakes) that could lead to an unwanted outcome (loss of driving). It seemed as if my mind wanted to ensure I could tackle all the possible hurdles, by propping all possible hurdles in memory.