Rage, Torture, Remorse, Repeat

Postby guiltyhilty » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:24 am

Let me start with the present: I am a SWM in my mid twenties. I live alone. I am a student and I also work part-time. For obvious reasons, I will be scant with the amount of identifiable information I include in this post.

I got a dog about six months ago. The dog was a little bit timid due to having had 3 previous owners. For the first few weeks, everything was fine, but eventually, I started torturing this dog. Specifically, I would do things like choke or constrict the dog. Strangling, either with my hands or with the collar, is usually what I do, for several seconds at a time. I have not done this until the dog is limp or unconscious, but in the moment, I have the desire to choke the dog much longer. I have hit the dog infrequently but not hard during these ‘sessions’ (I cringe at using this word but essentially that is what these are). However, I have the desire to hit the dog much harder, and even to very seriously maim and kill the dog. I am able to stop myself from crossing the line into serious or permanent injury, but I feel intense guilt about this.

I use the word sessions very specifically, because I get worked into a rage - teeth gritting, muscles tended, neck tensed, eyes bulging, and will be torturous to the dog for several muinutes. I feel immense remorse for this behavior, usually immediately afterwards. Over the past six months, this has become more common. Obviously I am now looking for a new home for the dog. I do not think I will lose control and permanently injure or kill the dog, but I know that I am causing psychological damage to a sweet, sweet animal that has shown me lots of forgiveness.