saying goodbye to the weed

Postby needtoquitnow » Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:21 am

I've been smoking weed for over 20 years now and it really is time to stop. It's taken over my life. I used to be a casual smoker, weekends and that but for the last few years its been from the time I get up to the time I go to bed, 7 days a week. I tried giving up before but im unbearable to be around after a few days so I'd give in and have a joint. Simple as that. I'm sure some of you can sympathise with me.

Anyway, this time I'm determined. I promised my son. Im on day 3 and I can tell you, its not easy. I'm wearing holes in the carpet pacing around.

I'm new here and have read some posts which I have found very helpful. I'm open to any advice anyone would like to give. Thanks in advance
needtoquitnow

Likes Received: 0

Postby JamesyBoy » Wed Jul 09, 2014 1:56 pm

Hi there,

I am also new here, created an account so that I could give my experience and thoughts on quitting. I have smoked the herb for around 14yrs now and can honestly say quitting smoking this stuff is harder than most ppl think. I was smoking all day every day, 7 days a week, id even go without food just so that I could have a spliff! Crazy eh?! One day I realised I didnt want to be a slave to it any more, the people in my life deserve better and just like that I quit! I tried to find other things to occupy my mind, like sports and fitness, going to see family and friends more, stuff like that. It worked for a few months until a particularly stressful time at work and I thought "i'll just buy one bag of weed and thats it" but it didnt work like that and 7months later im still smoking it :/ however im starting all over again, with quitting and going through the withdrawals and the vivid nightmares again (Im on day 2 so its still pretty early yet) It was a massive shame for me because I had gone 6months off of it as well, I was so proud of myself but one day at work ruined it all!