Fear of failure

Postby dreamahead » Mon Mar 16, 2015 4:54 am

Hi Guys, this is my first time using one of these forums so I'm a little skeptical on how it will go, but I"m willing to give it a try :)

The quote "fear of failure" I actually heard from a football (soccer) manager last year. It seems that I've noticed all my life I've had an underlying fear of failure or never really been proud of my "achievements". This year more than ever, I'm struggling to regain confidence and I'm on auto pilot.

A brief overview of what is of me and why my confidence has hit rock bottom: So I'm currently 22 years old, and my sport is football (soccer). I feel as if I have a love hate relationship with football. Right now it's hasn';t been the best of seasons for me on a personal note. I play for an amateur team with a lot of ex pros/semi-pros which makes the standard high but attainable. I've currently been in and out of the team. Some games I"ll play and some I'll sit out. The games I sit out and don't get to play I really take it to heart. Even games I do play and don't perform really affects me. I know life is so much more than football, but it is the one thing that keeps me sane. I see it as my form of "meditation" since I don't think of anything during the 90 minutes. However the one thing that I think I'm relatively good and put the amount of hours is not making me happy and I"ve not been enjoying it. The reason why I take an amateur league so seriously is because at the age of 18-19 I was tipped to getting signed a pro contract. Unfortunately I wasn't good enough and I wasn't signed. However at 21, I did get offered a contract but a pro club but by then I was actually enjoying my football with this amateur club and things were flying. I was plying well, starting all my games and had a girlfriend that was amazing. So life was good, but things changed...