Total Failure

Postby Mspanic » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:46 pm

I am a 30 year old bipolar woman who also has problems with severe anxiety and panic attacks. Several years ago when I was younger I struggled with really bad social phobia. I'd barely go out for fear of people judging me and when I graduated from grad school and it was time to get a job I pretty much had a nervous breakdown/manic episode because I knew I couldn't get a job. I couldn't even go through an interview without shaking and freaking out. The social phobia got better though and I finally got a job in my field (I am a librarian). But then I started getting panic attacks. I quit the job impulsively after just 3 months. Since then I've lived my life as an even bigger failure. The anxiety and panic attacks have been so bad I decided to go on disability. I am currently volunteering at a library but today I cancelled at the last minute again because I can't stand the panic I sometimes feel there. So I can't even volunteer at a library one day a week without becoming a total basket case. My parents and boyfriend are sympathetic and I have a great psychiatrist but this feeling of failure and inadequacy follows me wherever I go. Sometimes it all feels unbearable.
When I get panicky my head and arms start to tingle and I get tunnel vision and my brain feels almost thin and my thoughts go from one nightmare scenario to the next. Today I had another panic attack while driving. This is the scariest because I'm so worried about getting in an accident and I don't seem to notice things the same way as I would if I were feeling normal.
I don't know if I'm looking for help so much as a sympathetic voice. It would be nice to hear from someone whose had similar experiences.
Mspanic

Likes Received: 0

Postby Danacovert82 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:20 am